Meet Your Uzbekistan Travel Guide: Tahir

World Expeditions' Uzbekistan travel guide Tahir

Hello everybody my name is Tahir. I was born near the city of Khiva, but for the last 30 years I have been living in Tashkent. Here, I have been working since 1996 as an English-speaking travel guide. I am 48 and I’m married, my wife is a travel guide for French speaking travellers. Together we have three boys, my oldest and second son are both an Uzbekistan travel guide as well and they speak English, French and Russian. I am already a proud grandfather of my first granddaughter. My youngest son is studying at the moment and would like to become a tour guide as well!

I don’t have much free time, but if I have some, I like to travel – I have been to many countries. I enjoy reading interesting books and listening to classical music.

As a travel guide ‘work’ means to be a part of someone’s happiest holiday memories.

small-group-uzbekistan-holidays_World-Expeditions

When did you decide to become a travel guide in Uzbekistan and why?

After graduating from Uzbekistan State University of World Languages I worked for two years at the same University as a teacher. My hobby has always been to talk with foreigners though and that’s why I decided to change my job to work in tourism.

What are your responsibilities on a trip around Uzbekistan?

My responsibilities as a travel guide are to assist travellers to get to the places they like to go to give and information about the sights and history of Uzbekistan. The best part in my job is to show first time travellers the way around Uzbekistan, a new destination for them.

My hobby has always been to talk with foreigners and that’s why I decided to work in tourism.

small-group-travel-uzbekistan_World-Expeditions-Silk-Road-holidays

What do you like best about being an Uzbekistan travel guide?